CratesDriver InformationE-ModsFeature WinnersFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNascarNewsResultsScheduleSpecial eventsSport CompactsSprint CarsStreet StocksTop SliderUMP

Pozsgai Takes 305 Sprint Checkers In Front Of Hometown Fans

Large Fields Of Cars Race On Lincoln Speedway’s Second Night

(Lincoln, IL) Fan appreciation night had a large turnout of fans and drivers this past Friday, April 26 at Lincoln Speedway.  The night, presented by Kitchen Cooked Chips, had plenty of great races with a home favorite ending up in victory lane during the night’s Sprint car feature.

In the first of two appearances this season for the 305 Winged Sprint Cars, Lincoln, IL driver, Max Pozsgai jumped out front early on in the 18-lap feature.  Pozsgai, who grew up in Lincoln, was the fan favorite coming into the event.  Pozsgai started on the pole of the feature event, after garnering the most passing points in the heat races.  He didn’t have a cakewalk in the feature, as Robbie Standridge followed closely, in fact, looking to make a move on a couple of occasions.  In the end, though, Pozsgai won for the second time straight in 305 action at the track, dating back to last season.  Following Pozsgai and Standridge were Dylan Tuxhorn, Garrett Duff, and Jeff Wilke.

A full field of 20+ cars was on hand for the 2019 season opener for the Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models.  While 23 drivers took the green flag, it was all about Mendon, IL’s Denny Woodworth throughout the night.  Woodworth set fast time late in qualifying, won his heat, and beat a strong field of challengers for the feature win.  Woodworth was followed by 2017 Big Ten champion, Jake Little, Aaron Heck, Ryan Little, and Shawn Diggs.  The Pro Lates put on arguably the best race of the night, with drivers running the top, the middle, and the bottom of the track.  At the end, Woodworth barely edged Little as they worked lapped traffic coming to the checkered.

The DIRTcar Modified feature was full of wheelmen, as 20 drivers took the green flag.  Starting second but taking the lead early was St. Peters, MO driver, “The Destroyer” Rick Conoyer.  Conoyer had Donovan Lodge, Tommy Sheppard, Jr., Brian Lynn, and Zeb Moake in tow at the end, but none had enough to thwart Conoyer from the top spot.  On an interesting side-note, NASCAR Truck Series driver, Grant Enfinger, came in from Fairhope, AL to race Kelly Kovski’s #10 Modified.  Enfinger made his first dirt track start but got caught up in a heat race crash that ended his night early.

The Nutech Seed DII Midgets had a much improved field of cars for the second night of action.  13 drivers took the green flag in the 15-lap main event.  Andy Baugh, who declined to take the Nutech Seed Front Row Challenge, as did three other drivers, had the lead early in the main event.  The Mason City, IL driver did not lead every lap, however, as Lincoln, IL driver, Bret Tripplett nearly gave Lincoln another hometown win.  Triplett took the lead during the middle stages of the race before Baugh wrestled it back.  Following the two were Tyler Roth, Mitchell Davis, and Mark Billings.

Rounding out the night’s action was a very competitive field of DIRTcar Hornets.  Jake Momper, of Wilmington, IL raced out front at the green and built a comfortable lead, as the racing in the field was furious.  Danny Oates, a late arrival on the night, started fourth in the feature but worked his way into second.  The race went green to checkered, despite the furious battles throughout.  Momper and Oates were followed by Brady Reed, David Lauritson, and Eric Vanapeldoorn.

The fans were treated to free bags of Kitchen Cooked Chips on the way back to the parking lot, for a snack on the ride home.  They also enjoyed plenty of tasty $1 dogs and $2 beers throughout the evening.

Lincoln Speedway won’t be off long, as its back open again this coming Friday, May 3 for Ladies night, featuring $5 ladies admission.  Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Big Ten Street Stocks, Nutech Seed DII Midgets, and Hornets will be in action.

About Lincoln Speedway:

For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.  Lincoln Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program.


305 Sprint Cars

  1. 7X-Max Pozsgai, Lincoln, IL; 2. X-Robbie Standridge, Springfield, IL; 3. 9T-Dylan Tuxhorn, Pawnee, IL; 4. 84-Garrett Duff, Weldoon, IL; 5. 41-Jeff Wilke, Jeff Wilke; 6. 51-Brent Burrows, Lewistown, IL; 7. 11C-Mason Campbell, New Berlin, IL; 8. 18-Aaron Carlson, Linden, IN; 9. 9V-George Vaniter, Jacksonville, IL; 10. 2-Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL


Midwest Big Ten Pro Late Models

  1. 45DW-Denny Woodworth, Mendon, IL; 2. 38J-Jake Little, Springfield, IL; 3. 59-Aaron Heck, Mt. Vernon, IL; 4. 38L-Ryan Little, Springfield, IL; 5. 78-Shawn Diggs, Leroy, IL; 6. N59-Chad Evans, Mattoon, IL; 7. 32M-Cody Maguire, Carlinville, IL; 8. 33H-Roben Huffman, Midland City, IL; 9. 10C-Chris Morefield, Edwards, IL; 10. 45-Kyle McMahon, Mt. Vernon, IL

DIRTcar Modifieds 

  1. 14R-Rick Conoyer, St. Peters, MO; 2. 32D-Donovan Lodge, Andover, IL; 3. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr, New Berlin, IL; 4. 14-Brian Lynn, Mason City, IL; 5. 87Z-Zeb Moake, Freeburg, IL; 6. 35-Brandon Roberts, Ashland, IL; 7. 25-Jacob Steinkoenig, Highland, IL; 8. 555-Nick Neville, Mackinaw, IL; 9. 64-Dawson Cook, Morton, IL; 10. 83-Austin Charron, Peoria, IL

Nutech Seed DII Midgets

  1. 37-Andy Baugh, Mason City, IL; 2. 51J-Bret Tripplett, Lincoln, IL; 3. 18-Tyler Roth, Unknown, IL; 4. 7X-Mitchell Davis, Auburn, IL; 5. 60E-Mark Billings, Columbia, MO; 6. 57-Mark McMahill, Peoria, IL; 7. 42-Kevin Battefeld, Lewistown, IL; 8. 23-Patrick Ryan, Springfield, IL; 9. 11-Brandon Smith, Mason City, IL; 10. 55-Jeff Sparks, Mason City, IL

DIRTcar Hornets 

  1. 43-Jake Momper, Wilmington, IL; 2. 41-Danny Oates, Pekin, IL; 3. 32B-Brady Reed, Decatur, IL; 4. 15-David Lauritson, Normal, IL; 5. E77-Eric Vanapeldoorn, Clinton, IL; 6. 22-Mike Eskew, Springfield, IL; 7. 66-Chuck Johnson, Waterloo, IL; 8. 28F-Mike Foster, Pekin, IL; 9. WHO2-Eldon Hemken, Sorento, IL; 10. 36-Morgan Greene, Belleville, IL

Related Articles

Back to top button