CratesE-ModsFeature WinnersFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNascarNewsPOWRiResultsScheduleSpecial eventsSprint CarsTop SliderUMP

Lynn, Daugherty, & Baugh Take Lincoln Victories On All-Star Sprint Night

While Sheldon Haudenschild took the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit Of Champions victory on Friday night, the other three Lincoln Speedway divisions put on a great show for the large crowd in the house.

In the UMP Pro Late Model class, Cory Daugherty started up front and built a sizable advantage early on against a strong 16-car field.  With less than five to go, however, things really started to heat up and brought fans to the edges of their seats.  As Daugherty was closing on some slower traffic, the rest of the top five was closing on him.  With just a couple laps to go, the lead battle was hot with defending division champion, Nick Bauman and Jake Little looking for a way around him.  In the end, though, it was the Blue Mound, IL driver fending off the strong advances and racing to his first Pro Late Model win of the season at Lincoln Speedway.  Following Daugherty were Bauman, Little, Brian Lynn, and Jose Parga, who was one of the drivers who started at the back after arriving late.

While all racing was very good, the Midwest Technical Institute UMP Modified feature may have been the most exciting down the stretch.  NASCAR personality, Kenny Wallace, came to town to run his car, after a wild flip the week before at Quincy.  Wallace was outstanding in his heat race, starting back in the pack and claiming the victory, giving him the passing points needed to start on the pole of the feature.  Wallace immediately jumped out into the lead and looked dominant early.  His first real challenge came after a mid-race restart when many time champion, Brian Lynn drove to the inside and nearly pulled off the slide job in turns one and two.  While this effort was thwarted by Wallace, Lynn would get another chance late in the going.  With just a couple to go on a restart, Lynn drove to the inside and cleared Wallace in turn three.  Wallace drove back to the bottom coming off of four but came up just short in wrestling the lead back.  As the checkered waved, Mason City, IL’s Brian Lynn claimed his first victory of the season, while Wallace came home second.  Allen Weisser took third, with Austin Lynn fourth.  Kewanee, IL driver, Ray Bollinger, who is currently the national point leader in UMP Modified action, had his unbeaten streak of 3-for-3 broken and finished fifth.

The final division to run was the POWRi/Illini D-II Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed.  When it comes to Lincoln Speedway, one of the drivers to keep an eye on is Andy Baugh.  The defending point champion at the track was fast again on this night, starting on the front row and racing immediately into the lead.  Behind him, drivers were shuffling while avoiding a few skirmishes, some of which resulted in some aeronautic displays.  In the end, it was Mason City, IL’s Andy Baugh claiming his second victory of the season, while Tyler Vantoll and Austin Archdale claimed podium finishes.  Mitchell Davis, driving the 7x on this night, had an impressive drive back through the field after going to the back to claim fourth, while Dave Baugh took fifth.  The biggest jump from start to finish, though, was seventh place finisher, Gedd Ross, who started dead last in the impressive 27-car field.

Lincoln Speedway will next be in action on Sunday, June 12 for POWRi Illinois Midget week.  On hand will be the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets, POWRi Speedway Motors Micros, POWRi/Illini D-II Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed, and the Midwest Technical Institute UMP Modifieds.  Event times will be an hour earlier, due to the Sunday date, therefore the pits will open at 2:30, local pill draw ends at 4:50, hotlaps begin at 5:00, and racing will take the green at 6:00.

For more information, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.

Lincoln Speedway Feature Results (Top 10’s)

UMP Pro Late Models – 1) Cory Daugherty-Blue Mound, IL 2) Nick Bauman 3) Jake Little 4) Brian Lynn 5) Jose Parga 6) Roben Huffman 7) Matt Taylor 8) Brandon Eskew 9) Dakota Ewing 10) Matt Beadles

Midwest Technical Institute UMP Modifieds – 1) Brian Lynn-Mason City, IL 2) Kenny Wallace 3) Allen Weisser 4) Austin Lynn 5) Ray Bollinger 6) Kelly Kovski 7) Curt Rhodes 8) Nick Lueth 9) Nathan Balensiefen 10) TD Burger

POWRi/Illini D-II Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed – 1) Andy Baugh-Mason City, IL 2) Tyler Vantoll 3) Austin Archdale 4) Mitchell Davis 5) Dave Baugh 6) Adam Taylor 7) Gedd Ross 8) Max Pozsgai 9) Bob Shreffler 10) Travis Pence

Related Articles

Back to top button