CratesDriver InformationE-ModsFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsMOWANewsScheduleSpecial eventsSprint CarsTop SliderUMP

MOWA Sprint Cars Return To Lincoln Speedway Friday Night

(Lincoln, IL) One of the most popular events on the Lincoln Speedway schedule, each season, is coming up this Friday night, August 20, when the Morrow Brothers Ford MOWA Sprint Cars come to town. Five other divisions will also race.

The MOWA 410 cubic inch winged sprint cars have had four events so far this season, while weather has wreaked havoc on several other events. Ayrton Gennetten bested a field of 28 cars in the season opener at Tri-City Speedway in Granite City, IL. Gennetten came right back in the second event of the season at Lee County Speedway to start his season two-for-two. The most recent events were at Jacksonville Speedway with Paul Nienhiser and Brandon Hanks claiming the checkered flags.

This Friday’s race will be MOWA’s 15th visit to the Logan County Fairgrounds in Lincoln, IL. Ten different drivers have found victory lane, namely Rico Abreu, who has won three of them including last year’s race. Nienhiser has also won three, while AJ Bruns, Carson Macedo, Christopher Bell, Ian Madsen, Jerrod Hull, Jimmy Hurley, Korey Weyant, and Willie Croft have also found victory lane.

The DIRTcar Pro Late Models have had a lot of solid shows at the track this season and this Friday night should be no different. New Berlin, IL driver, Jose Parga, has been dominant this season anywhere he has gone and that includes Lincoln, where he has won six out of the seven features. Parga leads the standings by 44 over Jake Little. Blaise Baker, Roben Huffman, and Colby Sheppard complete the top five. Dakota Ewing, Parga’s teammate, is the only driver other than Parga to find victory lane.

Ray Bollinger enters Friday’s event atop the DIRTcar Modified points at the track, leading by 62 over many-time champion, Brian Lynn. Typically, Bollinger doesn’t run the full season at the track, missing several events. This year, the Kewanee, IL driver is only two weeks away from claiming the championship. Bollinger and Lynn are followed by Tommy Sheppard, Austin Lynn, and Brandon Roberts.

Peoria, IL driver, Mark McMahill leads the way in the Simplot DII Midget class at the track, claiming three of the six feature wins this year. Tyler Roth is 72 points behind, while Will Armitage, John Heitzman, and Kelli Harter round out the top five. Andy Baugh has claimed two wins, while Jake Neuman has taken one this season. The Simplot DII Front Row Challenge will be up to $700 for this week’s event.

The DIRTcar Hornet championship battle is a tight one entering the final two-point weeks at the track. Kenny Butterfield, of Kingston Mines, IL and Erik Vanapeldoorn from Clinton, IL have each won two of the seven features with Butterfield holding an eight point advantage. Jay Mariuzza, Allan Harris, and Cook Crawford complete the top five.

Rounding out Friday’s action will be the DIRTcar KidModz division with young drivers from age 8-16 competing in Modified division cars.

Pit gates will open Friday at 3:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps will start at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 7:00 PM. Grandstand admission is $20, while kids 11 and under are free.

About Lincoln Speedway:

For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of DIRTcar UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings. The track is also home to the DIRTcar Fall Nationals.


DIRTcar Pro Late Models

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 6P Jose Parga New Berlin IL 358 0
2 38J Jake Little Springfield IL 314 44
3 77 Blaise Baker Clinton IL 306 52
4 33H Roben Huffman Midland City IL 306 52
5 27 Colby Sheppard Williamsville IL 288 70
6 32M Cody Maguire Carlinville IL 288 70
7 11 Ryan Miller Lincoln IL 220 138
8 25 Dakota Ewing Warrensburg IL 216 142
9 14 Braden Johnson Taylorville IL 214 144
10 11E Brandon Eskew Ashland IL 194 164

DIRTcar Modified

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 77 Ray Bollinger Kewanee IL 484 0
2 14 Brian Lynn Mason City IL 422 62
3 T6 Tommy Sheppard New Berlin IL 418 66
4 72A Austin Lynn Mason City IL 386 98
5 35 Brandon Roberts Ashland IL 384 100
6 19C Carter Sinkhorn Taylorville IL 342 142
7 25W Allen Weisser Peoria IL 248 236
8 242 Brandon Bollinger Kewanee IL 246 238
9 32 Donovan Lodge Andover IL 212 272
10 49 Todd Bates Canton IL 200 284

Simplot DII Midgets

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 57 Mark McMahill Peoria IL 334 0
2 18 Tyler Roth Springfield IL 262 72
3 51R Will Armitage Athens IL 240 94
4 00 John Heitzman San Jose IL 212 122
5 22K Kelli Harter Dawson IL 200 134
6 19E Daltyn England Springfield IL 194 140
7 7B Dave Baugh Bloomington IL 176 158
8 23 Patrick Ryan Springfield IL 148 186
9 51 Brent Burrows Lewistown IL 136 198
10 42 Kevin Battefeld Lewistown IL 134 200

DIRTcar Hornets

Pos # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 24 Kenneth Butterfield Kingston Mines IL 404 0
2 E77 Erik Vanapeldoorn Clinton IL 396 8
3 5 Jay Mariuzza Pekin IL 364 40
4 3H Allan Harris Chatham IL 362 42
5 1 Cook Crawford Lincoln IL 270 134
6 28J Jeremy Hancock Peoria IL 260 144
7 9B Brandon Miller Broadwell IL 212 192
8 28F Mike Foster Pekin IL 180 224
9 357 Billy Mason Brownstown IL 158 246
10 44 Bill Basso Athens IL 140 264

Related Articles

Back to top button