CratesDriver InformationE-ModsFeature WinnersFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNewsSpecial eventsSport CompactsStreet StocksSummer NationalsTop SliderUMP

Nichols Claims Railsplitter 40 At Lincoln Speedway Jimmy John’s Opener

(Lincoln, IL) The sound of racing engines and the smell of high octane fuel was back at the Logan County Fairgrounds this past Friday, April 12.  It was Freaky Fast opening night at Lincoln Speedway, presented by Jimmy John’s.

The headliner of the night was the Midwest Stock Car Tour Street Stocks.  20 cars took the green with Lovington, IL’s Jeremy Nichols racing into the early lead.  Nichols held the advantage throughout the 40-lap event with Jerrad Krick in tow.  Krick closed the gap in the late going of the race but even with a late caution wasn’t able to make a move.  Nichols went on to claim the victory in his beautiful #24 ride.  Krick took second, while Lance Evans, Nick Macklin, and Don Hilleary rounded out the top five.

One of the most exciting races of the night was the DIRTcar Modified 20-lap feature.  Many time track champion, Brian Lynn, of Mason City fended off numerous challenges from Ray Bollinger and Tommy Sheppard.  The two drivers tried high and low to no avail.  Lynn started the season where he left off a year ago, leading the Modified standings.  Bollinger, Sheppard, Steve Stotler, and Austin Lynn completed the top five.

It was Springfield, IL’s Jake Little’s night in the DIRTcar Pro Late Models.  Little started up front and never looked back, taking the opening night win.  Denny Woodworth had a real nice run and finished in the second spot, while Brandon Eskew, Chris Morefield, and Dane Arvin were top five finishers.

In the Nutech Seed DII Midgets, Andy Baugh, the defending point champion, was scheduled to start on the pole. Baugh, though, took the Nutech Seed Front Row Challenge and put himself at the tail of the field, going for a $100 bonus.  It was a good night to do it, as there were only six cars in the class.  Baugh moved into third early on and methodically worked past Mark McMahill and Brandon Smith to claim the victory. 

Rounding out Friday night’s action was the DIRTcar Hornets.  Clinton, IL’s Eric Vanapeldoorn claimed the heat and feature win in convincing fashion but it was Morgan Greene than many people were talking about.  Greene had a wild flip in the heat race, flying high into the air while barrel rolling.  Somehow, not only was Greene physically okay, the crew was able to get the car back on track for the feature.  Greene finished sixth.  Danny Oates, David Lauritson, Carter Dart, and Cook Crawford picked up top five finishes.

Those attending the track on opening night should hold onto their wristbands and turn them into the Lincoln Jimmy John’s during the month of April.  Those who do will receive a free Frenchie with the purchase of a sandwich.

The next event at Lincoln Speedway comes up on Friday, April 26 as it will be Kitchen Cooked Potato Chips Fan Appreciation Night.  Admission will be slashed to just $10 per person and the 305 Sprint Cars will be in action.  Also running that night will be the Big Ten Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Nutech Seed DII Midgets, and Hornets.  Full information can be found at

About Lincoln Speedway: 

For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.  Lincoln Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program.


Midwest Stock Car Tour Railsplitter 40: 1. J24-Jeremy Nichols; 2. 99K-Jerrad Krick; 3. 37-Lance Evans; 4. 16-Nick Macklin; 5. 10H-Don Hilleary; 6. 5-Terry Reed; 7. 97-Josh Griffith; 8. 22-Darrell Dick; 9. 14-Megan Erwin; 10. 67R-Rudy Zaragoza; 11. 80-Justin Crowell; 12. 227-justin thomas; 13. (DNF) 08-Brian Dasenbrock; 14. (DNF) 2Z-Andy Zahnd; 15. (DNF) 27-Bailey Aukland; 16. (DNF) 4Z-Zach Zuberbier; 17. (DNF) 71-Justin VanDrunen; 18. (DNF) 17B-Braden Bilger; 19. (DNF) 37C-Dave Crawley Jr; (DNS) V8-Jeff Massey

DIRTcar Pro Late Models: 1. 38J-Jake Little; 2. 45DW-Denny Woodworth; 3. 11E-Brandon Eskew; 4. 10-Chris Morefield; 5. 09-Dane Arvin; 6. 32M-Cody Maguire; 7. 33H-Roben Huffman]; 8. 75C-Chuck Mitchell; 9. 25-Tucker Finch; 10. 15-Colby Eller; 11. 27-Colby Sheppard; 12. 77-Patrick Younger; 13. 33B-Storm Belier; 14. (DNF) X-Dustin Ingram; 15. (DNF) 51-Jarod Shasteen; (DNS) 25D-Dakota Ewing

DIRTcar Modifieds: 1. 14-Brian Lynn; 2. 77-Ray Bollinger; 3. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr; 4. 16S-Steve Stotler; 5. 72A-Austin Lynn; 6. 1-Kevin Morrow; 7. 0-Travis Kohler; 8. 3W-B.J. Deal; 9. 43-Jared Thomas; 10. 83-Austin Charron; 11. 777-Trevor Neville; 12. 43T-Josh Thomas; 13. T8-Ron Wick; 14. (DNF) 87C-Alan Crowder; 15. (DNF) 555-Nick Neville; 16. (DNF) 3-Mike Brooks

Nutech Seed DII Midgets: 1. 6B-Andy Baugh; 2. 11-Brandon Smith; 3. 57-Mark McMahill; 4. 23-Patrick Ryan; 5. 55-Jeff Sparks; (DNS) 14-Jack Routson

DIRTcar Hornets: 1. E77-Eric Vanapeldoorn; 2. 15-David Lauritson; 3. 41-Danny Oates; 4. D7-Carter Dart; 5. 64CK-Cook Crawford; 6. 12K-Kodi Landholt; 7. 52-Skylynn McCain; 8. MJ3-Mark Burgis; 9. 66D-Carson Dart; 10. 36-Morgan Greene

Related Articles

Back to top button