CratesDriver InformationE-ModsFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNewsScheduleSpecial eventsSport CompactsStreet StocksTop SliderUMP

Lincoln Speedway Season Ends Friday With Five Dollar Admission

Season And Track Champions To Be Determined On Brandt Night

(Lincoln, IL) It’s hard to believe but the 2018 season is set to come to an end this coming Friday, August 31 at Lincoln Speedway, in Lincoln, IL.  The year has seen some great racing with side-by-side action, slide jobs, rivalries, and tight point battles for the championship.  Fans will have their final chance to check it all out this Friday night and admission to the grandstands is just five dollars as part of the BRANDT sponsored event.

The Five Buck Nights are always popular with the fans, as not only do they receive admission to the grandstands for just $5, the concession stands have great combo deals for just $5.  This week’s special will be a hot dog, polish sausage, or corn dog plus an order of fries or chips, and a drink for just $5.  All of the other track favorites such as cheeseburgers, hamburgers, and tenderloins will also be for sale while supplies last.

When it comes to the on track action, many eyes will be fixed on the tight championship battle between the son-father combo of Austin and Brian Lynn.  Currently the son, Austin, leads by just four points over his dad, Brian.  Austin will be looking for his first Lincoln Speedway championship, while Brian looks to add to his already impressive trophy case.  Four points is the difference of two positions.  If they happen to end the night tied, the tiebreaker is feature wins.  Currently, Brian has one, while Austin is looking for his first.  If wins can’t break the tie, 2nd place finishes would be next tiebreaker and right down the line.  Mike Brooks, Ray Bollinger, and Brandon Roberts complete the top five in points.

The DIRTcar Pro Late Models have had some barn burners this year, with solid fields of cars and great racing.  The 2018 championship battle has been a good one as well and may go right down to the final lap as Springfield, IL’s Guy Taylor leads by just eight points over Roben Huffman.  Dakota Ewing may be the favorite to win the feature itself, as he has claimed three wins out of just five starts and sits third in points.  Michael Maestas and Kyle McMahon sit fourth and fifth in the standings.

The Nutech Seed DII Midgets presented by Bailey Chassis have had consistent turnouts of 12-14 cars per event this season and have had some exciting races.  Mason City, IL’s Andy Baugh has a comfortable lead in the standings, up 70 on Springfield, IL’s Daltyn England.  Baugh has won three of the seven features.  Mark McMahill, Kevin Battefeld, and Josh Thomas complete the top five. 

The DIRTcar Hornet division has a relatively close battle heading to the final night and it comes down to a pair of Decatur, IL drivers.  Jeremy Reed leads the points by 16, an eight position difference, over Adam Webb.  The two drivers have finished atop the national standings for Hornets before and have been tough at the ¼-mile this year.  Reed has two feature wins, while Webb is still looking for his first at the track this season.  Former track champion, Cook Crawford is third, while Eric VanApeldoorn and Kodi Landholt are fourth and fifth.

A solid field of Sportsman is expected in their only 2018 appearance at the track.  The semi-regular division at Macon Speedway has seen good fields of cars this year, especially at the Springfield Mile just two weeks ago.  Many of the same drivers are expected to contend for the only Sportsman trophy of the year at the track.

Rounding things out will be the Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks.  The event will be paying $500 to win and will see some of the best Street Stock competitors in the Midwest.  In two division events this season at the track, Jeremy Nichols, of Lovington, IL, has won both.  Galesburg, IL’s Robert Cottom, Decatur, IL’s Terry Reed, and hometown favorite Justin Crowell have also been solid.  In Big Ten points, Nichols is followed by Crowell, Reed, Rudy Zaragoza, and Darrell Dick.

Pit gates open Friday at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, hotlaps start at 6:00, and racing will begin at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is just $5, while kids 11 and under are free. 

About Lincoln Speedway:

For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.  Lincoln Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $150,000 Racer Rewards Program.


DIRTcar Pro Late Models

Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 4T Guy Taylor Springfield IL 396 0
2 33H Roben Huffman Midland City IL 388 8
3 25 Dakota Ewing Warrensburg IL 356 40
4 7Z Michael Maestas Lincoln IL 342 54
5 45 Kyle McMahon Mt Vernon IL 308 88
6 38J Jake Little Springfield IL 306 90
7 77 Patrick Younger Decatur IL 296 100
8 11 Jarod Shasteen Macon IL 286 110
9 32M Cody Maguire Carlinville IL 274 122
10 67R Rudy Zaragoza Jacksonville IL 210 186

DIRTcar Modifieds

Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 72A Austin Lynn Mason City IL 422 0
2 14 Brian Lynn Mason City IL 418 4
3 3 Mike Brooks Peoria IL 368 54
4 77 Ray Bollinger Kewanee IL 290 132
5 35 Brandon Roberts Ashland IL 274 148
6 48 Casey Lappin Bartonville IL 196 226
7 32 Donovan Lodge Andover IL 196 226
8 28 Kevin Morrow Pekin IL 196 226
9 43 Jared Thomas Edinburg IL 194 228
10 83 Austin Charron Peoria IL 164 258

Nutech Seed DII Midgets By Bailey Chassis

Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 6B Andy Baugh Mason City IL 406 0
2 19E Daltyn England Springfield IL 336 70
3 57 Mark McMahill Peoria IL 282 124
4 42 Kevin Battefeld Lewistown IL 274 132
5 43T Josh Thomas Edinburg IL 254 152
6 12 Alex Hunsaker Moweaqua IL 248 158
7 7B Dave Baugh Bloomington IL 246 160
8 09 Robby McQuinn Springfield IL 226 180
9 55 Jeff Sparks Mason City IL 196 210
10 27 Charles Kunz Springfield IL 188 218

DIRTcar Hornets

Pos Car # First Name Last Name City State Points Gap
1 33 Jeremy Reed Decatur IL 288 0
2 40 Adam Webb Decatur IL 272 16
3 64CK Cook Crawford Lincoln IL 224 64
4 X Eric Vanapeldoorn Clinton IL 178 110
5 12K Kodi Landholt Buffalo IL 170 118
6 5 Jay Mariuza Pekin IL 152 136
7 -20 Bryce Terry East Peoria IL 120 168
8 3 Bob Sanders Lincoln IL 116 172
9 43 Jake Momper Wilmington IL 112 176
10 25P Brett Pratt Easton IL 98 190

Midwest Big Ten Series Street Stocks

1 J24 Jeremy Nichols Lovington IL 360 0
2 24 Justin Crowell Lincoln IL 338 22
3 5 Terry Reed Decatur IL 288 72
4 67 Rudy Zaragoza Jacksonville IL 282 78
5 22 Darrell Dick Monticello IL 278 82
6 23Z Shawn Ziemer Boody IL 234 126
7 22C Chris Dick Deland IL 218 142
8 31 Roy Beal Springfield IL 204 156
9 1 Robert Cottom Galesburg IL 166 194
10 122 Timmy Dick Monticello IL 164 196

Related Articles

Back to top button