CratesE-ModsFeature WinnersFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsMOWANewsPOWRiResultsSpecial eventsSport CompactsSprint CarsTop SliderUMP

Macedo Finishes Of Clean Sweep Of Winged Sprints At Lincoln

Californian Has Central Illinois Track Figured Out

                (Lincoln, IL) Lincoln Courier night, presented by Melling Performance Parts brought out a stellar field of 30 winged sprint cars for the Neal Tire Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA) event at Lincoln Speedway.  UMP Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Hornets, and POWRi Lucas Oil DII Midgets were also in action.

                Jacob Patton set fast time with an 11.604 in sprint car qualifying, to best the 30-car field.  Heat race victories went to Kody Kinser, Jimmy Hurley, Carson Macedo, and Chris Urish.  In the important B-Main, to determine the final starters in the field, Paul Nienhiser put on a show at the top of the track to claim the win.

                24 cars lined up for the 25-lap Neal Tire & Auto MOWA Sprint Car feature.  At the drop of the green, Lemoore, California driver, Carson Macedo, rocketed out front.  Macedo, coming off of the win in early June with the Arctic Cat All Star Sprint cars at the track, was again the man to beat.  Macedo would’ve lapped a huge portion of the field if it weren’t for the top story of the race, cautions.  Numerous mishaps took place during the race, causing several rollovers and red flags.

                While Macedo was cruising on the short runs out front, Paul Nienhiser was putting on the show in the field.  Nienhiser, who had to make the show through the B-Main, put his car on the topside of the race track, using the cushion to rocket past drivers in the top ten.  With four to go, Nienhiser had made it all the way to second but jumped the cushion a little too much, resulting in one of the many flips during the race.

                Eventually, the checkered flag waved with Macedo taking the victory, his second at the track this season in as many starts.  Brad Loyet claimed the runner-up spot, while Brett Tripplet, Blake Nimee, and Aaron Andruskevitch completed the top five.  The number of cautions and reds were a bit of a surprise as many of the same drivers competed in the caution free event during the month of June.

                A small but competitive field of UMP Modifieds were trackside for their 20-lap feature event.  Macon Speedway point leader, Curt Rhodes, pulled out front to lead early after a dominant run in the heat race, earlier in the night.  Second place starter, Rodney Standerfer, stepped it up a bit for the feature, though, as he hounded Rhodes at the front of the pack.  The race didn’t come without a couple of skirmishes involving Standerfer, Rhodes, Brian Lynn, and Brandon Roberts.  All four drivers were racing hard, going for the win with fairly equal cars.  Unfortunately, Lynn had a suspension issue end his night, while Roberts was relegated back a few spots after one of the other cautions.  That said, a final two-lap shootout had fans on the edge of their seat as the two grizzled veterans, Rhodes and Standerfer, swapped the lead back and forth with crossover moves.  At the checkered, it was Standerfer claiming his first Lincoln Speedway victory of the season with Rhodes coming across the line with a close second.  Austin Lynn made a late race charge to run three wide for the lead on the last lap, only to come up a bit short.  Roberts rebounded for fourth, while Mike Brooks finished fifth. 

                In the Midwest Big Ten UMP Pro Late Model feature, polesitter, Jake Little jumped out to the early lead with Denny Woodworth falling in line behind him.  Myles Moos got shuffled back on the opening start and spent the first half of the race rebounding to get back to second.  Moos moved into second on lap eight and worked to chase down Little.  For a lap or two, it looked like Moos was going to run him down but it after gaining a little, he’d give up a little.  All-in-all, both cars  were pretty equal out front.  At the checkered, Little claimed the victory, while Moos, Woodworth, Ryan Little, and Roben Huffman completed the top five.

                Waterman, IL driver, Jack Routson led the final 14 laps of the POWRi Lucas Oil DII Midget feature presented by Nutech Seed.  For Routson, it was his first career feature victory and the Waterman, IL driver now extends his point lead in the division at the track.  Broc Hunnell finished second, while Mitchell Davis, Austin Archdale, and Josh Thomas completed the top five.

                Rounding out the action was the UMP Hornet feature.  The Hornets didn’t have an extremely large field, but they put on solid races in their heat and feature.  The feature event saw good battles throughout the field with Jeremy Reed coming from deep in the pack to claim the win with a late race pass.  Reed was followed by Dallas Lugge, who led the most laps, Derrick DeFord, Jimmy Duflinger, and Shane Kelly.

                Lincoln Speedway will next be in action on Friday, July 28 with Lincoln Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram presenting the Raminator Monster Truck.  Pro Late Models, Modifieds, KidsModz, DII Midgets, Hornets, and the Vintage Racing of Illinois will be in action. 

                Pit gates will open at 4:00, grandstands at 5:00, pill draw will end at 5:50 when the drivers meeting begins, hotlaps begin at 6;00, and racing will take the green at 7:00.  Grandstand admission is $15 with kids 11 and under free.

About Lincoln Speedway:

                For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

                Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.  Lincoln Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $100,000 Racer Rewards Program.

Lincoln Speedway Feature Results (Top 10’s)

Neal Tire MOWA Sprint Cars

1 – Carson Macedo 3G (1), 2 – Brad Loyet 05 (8), 3 – Bret Tripplett 22 (4), 4 – Blake Nimee 79 (16), 5 – Aaron Andruskevitch 83 (9), 6 – Dustin Adam 3A (22), 7 – Chris Urish 77u (3), 8 – Kody Kinser 4k (17), 9 – Jake Blackhurst 25 (2), 10 – Cory Bruns 42 (12)

UMP Pro Late Models

  1. 38J-Jake Little, [1]; 2. 84-Myles Moos, [4]; 3. 45DW-Denny Woodworth, [3]; 4. 38L-Ryan Little, [5]; 5. 33H-Roben Huffman, [6]; 6. 27-Greg Kimmons, [2]; 7. 29-Chris Osborne, Jr., [7]; 8. 11E-Brandon Eskew, [8]; 9. 67R-Rudy Zaragoza, [10]; 10. 32M-Cody Maguire, [9]

UMP Modifieds

  1. 28S-Rodney Standerfer, [2]; 2. 10-Curt Rhodes, [1]; 3. 72A-Austin Lynn, [7]; 4. 35-Brandon Roberts, [4]; 5. 3-Mike Brooks, [6]; 6. 23M-Matthew Gremminger, [8]; 7. (DNF) 55-Collin Alexander, [5]; 8. (DNF) 14-Brian Lynn, [3]

POWRi DII Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed

  1. 14-Jack Routson, [4]; 2. 7X-Mitchell Davis, [1]; 3. 2-Austin Archdale, [6]; 4. 43T-Josh Thomas, [8]; 5. D33-AJ Hill, [3]; 6. 11B-Tyler Baron, [5]; 7. 54-Eric Reibenstein, [7]; 8. 3L-Marty Saso, [10]; 9. 30T-Tyler Vantoll, [11]; 10. X11-David Alexander, [9]

UMP Hornets

  1. 33-Jeremy Reed, [5]; 2. 83D-Dallas Lugge, [3]; 3. 11-Derrick DeFord, [6]; 4. 28-Jimmy Duflinger, [2]; 5. 14K-Shane Kelley, [4]; 6. 21-Mike Eskew, [7]; 7. 15-David Lauritson, [1]; 8. 64CK-Cook Crawford, [8]               

Related Articles

Back to top button