CratesDriver InformationFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNewsPOWRiScheduleSpecial eventsSport CompactsStreet StocksTop SliderUMP

Midwest Big 10 Super Late Models Ready For Friday Night

(Lincoln, IL) The Midwest Big Ten Super Late Models have a pair of events under their belt in 2017 and event #3 is set for this Friday night, May 19, at Lincoln Speedway. Trenton, IL driver, Michael Kloos, leads a talented list of drivers in the Super Late Model group heading into another doubleheader weekend for the series. Four other divisions of action will fill Friday night’s card.

The Midwest Big Ten Series Super Late Models opened up at Quincy Raceway on May 7 with Gordy Gundaker claiming the top prize. The tour then traveled to Belle-Clair Speedway last Friday night for a raindated event. There, it was current point leader, Michael Kloos, taking the top prize. Kloos finished second in the Quincy opener to give him the point lead. Rusty Griffaw is second in the standings, while Greg Kimmons, Matt Shannon, and Mark Voigt complete the top five.

In last season’s Lincoln visit, Rich Bell, of Sheffield, IL, took the victory over a tough field that included second place finisher, Ryan Unzicker. Chuck Mitchell, Daryn Klein, and Bob Gardner were top five contenders. In all, 22 drivers were on track for the show, which is a great tune-up for the Summer Nationals visit on July 2.

In the UMP Modified class at Lincoln, perennial favorite, Kewanee, IL driver, Ray Bollinger, is coming off of a win in week #2 and leads the points over Brandon Roberts, who won the season opener. Austin Lynn is off to a great start at Lincoln and Macon this season and sits third in points. Defending track champion, Brian Lynn, is fourth in points, while Donovan Lodge rounds out the top five. NASCAR personality, Kenny Wallace, will be joining the already strong Modified class this Friday night.

Another Midwest Big Ten Series class is on the docket this Friday, as the Street Stocks are back for a second time this year. As for the Big Ten Series, only one Street Stock race has been held this year. It was at Macon Speedway on April 22, where Dave Crawley, Jr., of Decatur, IL, took the exciting victory over Jeremy Nichols. Darrel Dick, Justin Layne, and Shawn Ziemer complete the top five.

Lincoln Speedway is the unofficial homebase of the POWRi Lucas Oil DII Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed. After two events at the track, Tyler Vantoll and Mitchell Davis are tied atop the track standings, while Dave Baugh, Andy Baugh, and Jack Routson complete the top five. Vantoll and Gedd Ross have found victory lane in the two previous events.

Rounding out this Friday’s classes will be the UMP Hornet division. Mike Eskew is currently leading the standing by six over Cook Crawford. Shane Kelley, Vernon Carlow, and Adam Webb round out the top five. Kelley and Webb have claimed this year’s feature wins.

Pit gates will open at 4:00 with grandstand gates swinging open at 5:00. The competitor pill draw will end at 6:00, hotlaps begin at 6:10, and racing will take the green at 7:00. Grandstand admission is $15, while kids 11 and under are free.

About Lincoln Speedway:

For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy). Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL. The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656. Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings. Lincoln Speedway is a proud member of the Contingency Connection’s $100,000 Racer Rewards Program.


Midwest Big Ten Super Late Models

Pos Driver Points Gap
1 Michael Kloos 118 0
2 Rusty Griffaw 106 12
3 Greg Kimmons 98 20
4 Matt Shannon 86 32
5 Mark Voigt 82 46
6 Jason Suhre 78 50
7 Dewayne Kiefer 74 54
8 Mike Hammerle 70 58
9 Gordy Gundaker 60 68
10 Rickey Frankel 56 72

Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks

Pos Driver Points Gap
1 Dave Crawley, Jr. 60 0
2 Jeremy Nichols 58 2
3 Darrell Dick 56 4
4 Justin Layne 54 6
5 Shawn Ziemer 52 8
6 Wes Biesenthal 50 10
7 Brian Dasenbrock 48 12
8 Jason Scrimpsher 46 14
9 Freddie Thomas 44 16
10 Walt Layne 42 18


UMP Modifieds

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 77 Ray Bollinger 118 0
2 35 Brandon Roberts 116 2
3 72A Austin Lynn 106 12
4 14 Brian Lynn 102 16
5 32 Donovan Lodge 98 20
6 97 Charles Hess 92 26
7 98C Cole Hussong 80 38
8 10 Curt Rhodes 80 38
9 99 Tim Luttrell 76 42
10 3 Mike Brooks 74 44

POWRi Lucas Oil DII Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 30T Tyler Vantoll 116 0
2 56 Mitchell Davis 116 0
3 7B Dave Baugh 106 10
4 6B Andy Baugh 92 24
5 10R Jack Routson 92 24
6 5 Wyatt Teare 92 24
7 19E Daltyn England 90 26
8 51R Gedd Ross 60 56
9 2 Christopher Baue 54 62
10 73 Broc Hunnell 52 64

UMP Hornets

Pos Car Driver Points Gap
1 21 Mike Eskew 116 0
2 64CK Cook Crawford 110 6
3 14K Shane Kelley 106 10
4 89 Vernon Carlow 106 10
5 40 Adam Webb 60 56
6 3 Bob Sanders 56 60
7 35R Ricky Carracter 50 66
8 32 Alex Johnson 48 68


Related Articles

Back to top button