CratesE-ModsFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNewsResultsSpecial eventsSport CompactsStreet StocksTop SliderUMP

Bollinger Bests Strong Field Of Mods At Lincoln Speedway

(Lincoln, IL) Lincoln Speedway was able to endure heavy rainfall over the last seven days to race this past Friday night, May 3.  While many passed a number of fields covered in water from recent flooding, they arrived at Lincoln Speedway which was ready to go.  Fans got to see a good clean night of action with a solid field of cars.

The top story of the night was the DIRTcar Modified turnout.  Some of the top Modified drivers in the Midwest made the trip as 24 competitors were pitside.  Fifteen locked in through heat races while an additional five came through the last chance.  When the green dropped on the 20-lap A-Main, it was Kewanee, IL’s Ray Bollinger racing into the lead with polesitter, Brian Lynn dropping into second.  Retired NASCAR star, Kenny Wallace, made the trip from water logged St. Louis, MO and was running third early on.  Wallace followed Lynn closely, trying to get a run to the inside.  However, at the end of the event, Bollinger held on for his first 2019 win.  Lynn, Wallace, Mike Harrison, and Michael Long completed the top five.  19 out of the 20 drivers finished the race on the lead lap, with only one driver coming up two laps short when his car lost power at the end.

One thing is certain, when Ryan Little, of Springfield, IL, shows up to Lincoln Speedway, everyone knows he will be a threat to win.  That was the case on Friday night, as Little took the lead after a back-and-forth battle with Brandon Eskew.  The two had a good run going before Eskew dropped back in the top five.  Little’s challenges weren’t over, however, as Mendon, IL’s Denny Woodworth, moved from his fourth starting spot into second.  Woodworth gave it a college try but Little was able to fend him off.  Jake Little took third, while Cody Maguire and Eskew completed the top five.

The Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks came out for their second event of the season but their first at Lincoln.  Nick Macklin, of Argenta, IL, won his heat, which slated him in the second spot for the feature event.  Macklin took the lead early and raced his way to an impressive win.  Terry Reed picked up a few spots to finish second, while Andy Zahnd, Jaret Duff, and Braden Bilger completed the top five.

The Nutech Seed DII Midget turnout continued to improve as 15 drivers took the green.  Second place starter, Karter Sarff, a youngster from Mason City, IL, took the early lead in the 20-lap event.  Mitchell Davis, a young driving veteran in the class and Andy Baugh, the winner of the first two events in 2019, ran second and third throughout.  Baugh made a couple of efforts to continue his win streak but Sarff and Davis remained out front.  Following the trio at the checkered were Tyler Roth and Daltyn England.  England picked up seven spots during the race for a top five.  No one accepted the Nutech Seed Front Row Challenge so the bonus moves to $300 at the next event.

Rounding out Friday night’s action was the DIRTcar Hornets.  Eric Vanapeldoorn started on the outside pole for the 12-lap event and raced out front early.  The Hornet hotshoe lived up to expectations keeping all competition behind him.  Current point leader, Danny Oates, was able to finish second to Vanapeldoorn, who picked up his second win in three tries this season.  Brady Reed, Mike Eskew, and Jay Mariuza completed the top five.

Up next for Lincoln Speedway, the Midwest Big Ten Super Late Models will open up their season at the track on Friday, May 17.  Joining the cars in a Summer National tune-up will be the DIRTcar Modifieds, Nutech Seed DII Midgets, Street Stocks, and Hornets.

For more information and a full schedule, visit

FEATURE RUNDOWNS (Top 10’s) (Full Results On Site) 

DIRTcar Modifieds 

  1. 77-Ray Bollinger, Kewanee, IL; 2. 14-Brian Lynn, Mason City, IL; 3. 36-Kenny Wallace, St. Louis, MO; 4. 24H-Mike Harrison, Highland, IL; 5. 18L-Michael Long, Fowler, IL; 6. 14C-Rick Conoyer, St. Peters, MO; 7. 57-Trey Harris, Hillsboro, MO; 8. 72A-Austin Lynn, Mason City, IL; 9. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr, New Berlin, IL; 10. 3-Mike Brooks, Peoria, IL

DIRTcar Pro Late Models

  1. 38L-Ryan Little, Springfield, IL; 2. 45DW-Denny Woodworth, Mendon, IL; 3. 38J-Jake Little, Springfield, IL; 4. 32M-Cody Maguire, Carlinville, IL; 5. 11E-Brandon Eskew, Ashland, IL; 6. 1M-Andy Minett, New Berlin, IL; 7. 27-Colby Sheppard, Williamsville, IL; 8. 33H-Roben Huffman, Midland City, IL; 9. 14-Braden Johnson, Taylorville, IL; 10. 10-Chris Morefield, Edwards, IL

Midwest Big Ten Street Stocks 

  1. 16-Nick Macklin, Argenta, IL; 2. 5-Terry Reed, Cerro Gordo, IL; 3. 2Z-Andy Zahnd, White Heath, IL; 4. 21-Jaret Duff, Maroa, IL; 5. 17B-Braden Bilger, Jacksonville, IL; 6. 15-Josh Hetherington, Fairbury, IL; 7. 22-Darrell Dick, Monticello, IL; 8. 17-Josh Beal, Riverton, IL; 9. 14-Wes Biesenthal, Athens, IL; 10. (DNF) 67-Rudy Zaragoza, Jacksonville, IL

Nutech Seed DII Midgets

  1. 51-Karter Sarff, Mason City, IL; 2. 7X-Mitchell Davis, Auburn, IL; 3. 37-Andy Baugh, Mason City, IL; 4. 18-Tyler Roth, Unknown, IL; 5. 19E-Daltyn England, Springfield, IL; 6. 23-Patrick Ryan, Springfield, IL; 7. 11-Brandon Smith, Mason City, IL; 8. 15M-Shane Morgan, Creve Coeur, IL; 9. 42-Kevin Battefeld, Lewistown, IL; 10. 56-Kinser Medler, West Salem, IL

DIRTcar Hornets 

  1. E77-Eric Vanapeldoorn, Clinton, IL; 2. 41-Danny Oates, Pekin, IL; 3. 32B-Brady Reed, Decatur, IL; 4. 21-Mike Eskew, Springfield, IL; 5. 5-Jay Mariuza, Pekin, IL; 6. 26A-Michael McKay, Springfield, IL; 7. 64CK-Cook Crawford, Lincoln, IL; 8. D7-Carter Dart, Springfield, IL; 9. 22-Tommy Eskew, Decatur, IL

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button