CratesE-ModsFeature WinnersFeatured NewsLate ModelsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNewsPOWRiResultsSpecial eventsSport CompactsSummer NationalsTop SliderUMP

​Lynn & Weisser Take Top Wins At Lincoln Speedway

World Of Outlaws & Summernationals Up Next

Intrepid Fallen Heroes Night, presented by Charron’s Auto Repair, had a little bit of everything for the fans this past Friday, June 24 at Lincoln IL Speedway.  A color guard, bagpipes, and rendition of the national anthem led into the six division show.  American flags handed to those in attendance and t-shirts flying into the stands during the night also helped honor the fallen heroes of our military.  The event was the final one before the huge World Of Outlaw vs. Summernational show coming up on Sunday, July 3.

The headline show of the night was the Midwest Big Ten Series Pro Late Models.  A solid field of drivers were in attendance with this being the first of two nights this weekend for the series.  After the frisbee redraw, Brian Lynn and Jake Little started on the front row for the 20-lap event.  When the green dropped, it was Lynn racing to the front, while Little searched for the right lane to make his car work.  Eventually, Matt Taylor moved into second and started to challenge the leader.  After a handful of yellows during the event, Lynn was able to fend off all advances and take the checkered flag for his first Pro Late Model win of the season.  Following the Macon City, IL driver were Taylor, Little, Huffman, and Brandon Eskew.

Allen Weisser set fast time in qualifying, won his heat, and got a nice redraw for the UMP Modified feature to put him on the front row.  The Peoria, IL driver raced to the front as Brian Lynn moved his Modified into the second spot.  As lap-after-lap went up on the newly installed lap boards, Weisser remained error free and kept a comfortable edge on Lynn.  At the end of the 20-lap event, it was Weisser taking his first Lincoln victory of the season, followed by Lynn, Curt Rhodes, Cody Spirling, and Travis Hendrickson.

For the first time this season, the B-Mods were in action at Lincoln and much like the A-Mod division, it was a Weisser who ended up in victory lane.  This time it was Butch Weisser, Allen’s dad, in his #61 ride.  Leading from start to finish, the Peoria, IL driver was followed by Tom Riech, Travis Hendrickson, Hunter Diebel, and Tim Riech.

Another competitive field of POWRi/Illini D-II Midgets presented by Nutech Seed were pitside for the evening’s events.  After claiming their heat race wins, Patrick Bruns and Adam Taylor were slated alongside one another for the 15-lap feature.  Immediately on the wave of the green, Champaign, IL driver Bruns raced out front.  Drivers ran the high side and lowside of the race track, looking for the fastest line to suit their needs.  While Bruns dominated out front, Mitchell Davis was putting on the show coming from seventh to second by the end.  As the checkered fell, it was Bruns taking his track leading, third feature win of the year.  Davis, Vantoll, Taylor, and Hunter Lane completed the top five.  After the race, drivers and teams were very pleased in the strides that were made on the track to help the racing and tire conservation.

Lovington, IL driver Jeremy Nichols dominated the Sportsman class, during the division’s second appearance at the track this season.  Nichols came from fourth in the heat to win it, while Timmy Dick finished second in that event.  It slated the two Sportsman hotshoes side-by-side on the front row for the start of the event, with Nichols racing into the lead and pulling away.  At the checkered, Nichols was followed by Dick, who won the feature earlier in the year.  Tim Bedinger had a solid run to finish third, while Scott Williams and Gregg Paul were top five finishers.

The final feature of the night was the UMP Hornet 15-lapper.  Mike Eskew and Danny Oates started up front for the main event with Eskew jumping out front and into the lead.  Behind him, fellow heat race winner, Matthew Mackey was running hot on his heels.  As lap-after-lap clicked off, Mackey was looking high and low as the duo raced away from the other competitors.  At the checkered, Eskew picked up the win, his second of the year.  The Springfield, IL driver was followed by Mackey, Oates, Cook Crawford, and Gary Williams.

That brings us to the biggest event in the 13 year history of Lincoln Speedway on Sunday, July 3.  For the first time ever, the World of Outlaw Craftsman Late Models will be competing against the Summernational Hell Tour Late Models.  An outstanding field of cars is expected with drivers from both series running for important points and the $8,000 top prize in the A-Main presented by Graue Chevrolet.  The Summit National Modifieds and B-Mods will also be in action.

Pit gates will open at 2:00, grandstands at 3:00, hotlaps begin at 5:30, Late Model qualifying starts at 6:00, and racing will take the green at 6:30.  Grandstand tickets will be sold at the gate that day for $30, while kids 11 and under are just $5.

For more information on the track, follow Lincoln Speedway online at, on Facebook (, and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.

Lincoln Speedway Results (Top Ten’s)

Midwest Big Ten Series Pro Late Models – 1. 4Q-Brian Lynn; 2. 24T-Matt Taylor; 3. 38J-Jake Little; 4. 33H-Roben Huffman; 5. 11E-Brandon Eskew; 6. 75-Gary Turpin; 7. 1M-Andy Minett; 8. 32M-Cody Maguire; 9. 15-Kevin Crowder; 10. 05G-Gary Graham

Midwest Technical Institute UMP Modifieds – 1. 25W-Allen Weisser; 2. 14-Brian Lynn; 3. 10-Curt Rhodes; 4. 5-Cody Spirling; 5. 18-Travis Hendrickson; 6. 15B-Mason Duncan; 7. 72A-Austin Lynn; 8. 62-Hunter Diebel; 9. 61-Butch Weisser; 10. 10A-Shawn Vaughn

UMP B-Mods – 1. 61-Butch Weisser; 2. 57-Tom Riech; 3. 18-Travis Hendrickson; 4. 62-Hunter Diebel; 5. 55-Tim Riech; 6. 66-Roy Magee; 7. 15B-Mason Duncan

POWRi/Illini D-II Midgets Presented By Nutech Seed – 1. 10B-Patrick Bruns; 2. 56-Mitchell Davis; 3. 30T-Tyler Vantoll; 4. 7-Adam Taylor; 5. 0A-Hunter Lane; 6. 22-Johnny Heydenreich; 7. 15M-Shane Morgan; 8. 51R-Gedd Ross; 9. 10R-Jack Routson 10. 7B-Dave Baugh

UMP Sportsman – 1. J24-Jeremy Nichols; 2. 22-Timmy Dick; 3. B99-Tim Bedinger; 4. 112-Scott Williams; 5. 14-Gregg Paul; 6. 9-Terry Miller; (DNS) 56-Brandon Pralle

UMP Hornets – 1. 21-Mike Eskew; 2. 01-Matthew Mackey; 3. 01D-Danny Oates; 4. 64CK-Cook Crawford; 5. 1W-Gary Williams; 6. 11-Derrick DeFord; 7. 66-Mike McChristy; 8. 82-Hugh Jordan; 9. 35R-Ricky Carracter; 10. 5-Jay Mariuza

Related Articles

Back to top button