E-ModsFeatured NewsLincoln SpeedwayModifiedsNewsPOWRiScheduleSpecial eventsTop SliderUMP

Illinois Midget Week Coming To Lincoln Speedway June 12

2016 POWRi SPEED Week FlyerBelleville, IL – The 4th Annual Illinois SPEED Week is shaping up to be one of the largest events for 2016 with a world-wide driver presence set to tackle five straight days of racing. All five nights will feature POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series action, paired with both the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series and the POWRi/ILLINI Lucas Oil Division II Midget Series. The grueling weeks kicks off on Wednesday, June 8th at the high-banked Belle-Clair Speedway. Thursday, teams will head north to Quincy Raceways, before Friday’s show at Jacksonville Speedway. Saturday, the divisions will invade Macon Speedway and for the fifth and final night, Illinois SPEED Week will conclude at Lincoln Speedway. The five nights of racing will be the ultimate test of endurance for drivers and crews, equipment maintenance, and an excellent display of driver talents.

The Lincoln Speedway event on Sunday, June 12 will not only have all three POWRi classes, the night will also include the Midwest Technical Institute UMP Modified division.  In that class, Kewanee, IL driver, Ray Bollinger won the first three events before defending point champion, Brian Lynn raced to the checkered flag in the most recent feature.  The two drivers are separated by just six points in the championship standings.

Previous Illinois SPEED Week Champions for the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series include Christopher Bell (2013, 2015 tie), Tyler Thomas (2014), and Darren Hagen (2015 tie). In the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series, Cale Thomas took the inaugural Illinois SPEED Week in 2013, while Frank Flud was the champion in 2014. Joe B. Miller was the 2015 Illinois SPEED Week Champion for the micros. Newly added in their freshmen year, the POWRi/ILLINI Lucas Oil Division II Midget Series will be the third division on the roster for Illinois SPEED Week.

Currently atop the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series point standings and still looking for his first victory of 2016, Zach Daum holds an 80 point lead over Spencer Bayston going into Illinois SPEED Week. Andrew Felker rides in third, 100 points out, while Justin Peck sits in fourth, 180 points out of the top position. Fifth place Tanner Thorson has a 240 point disadvantage to overcome in order to reach the top spot.

Nathan Benson holds a commanding 420 point advantage over Slater Helt heading into Illinois SPEED Week for the POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series. Shelby Bosie rides in the third position 540 points out, while Jeremy Camp sits in fourth. Alec Long has the fifth position.

In the POWRi/ILLINI Lucas Oil Division II Midget Series, Patrick Bruns has a 100 point lead over Tyler Vantoll. Adam Taylor holds the third position 160 points out, while Hunter Lane is in fourth. Jack Routson holds the fifth position.

Pit gates on June 12 at Lincoln Speedway will open at 2:30, grandstands at 4:00, Modified pill draw will end at 4:50, hotlaps will begin at 5:00, Modified group qualifying will begin at 5:45, and racing will take the green at 6:00.

For further information, visit www.powri.com, “Like” POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.

For more information, follow Lincoln Speedway online at www.lincolnspeedwayil.com, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/LincolnILSpeedway), and Twitter (@LincolnILSpdwy).  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

Lincoln Speedway is located at the Logan County Fairgrounds, in Lincoln, IL.  The physical address is 1408 Short 11th St., Lincoln, IL 62656.  Lincoln Speedway races a number of UMP classes as well as specials on a near bi-weekly schedule of Friday and Sunday evenings.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button